Tuesday, 28th April 2009
1. Magpie
Magpie is an ad network for Twitter. They’ll post tweets to your Twitter account on a predefined ratio of tweets to ads. You could select to post ads as often as 1 ad after you post 1 Tweet or as spaced out as 1 ad after 200 Tweets. This is all done automatically for you so you don’t have to do anything.
Magpie’s ads come in pay per view, pay per click, pay per sale and pay per lead. You may choose to manually select the ads you wish to post to your Twitter account or let Magpie handle it automatically. Another great feature is to prepend the Magpie ads with a custom text like “ad:”.
2. Twittad
Twittad does not post Tweets to your Twitter account. Instead, it displays a background image to your Twitter account. Twittad calculates the estimated monthly ad cost of your Twitter account and you may edit that amount to whatever amount you think your Twitter is worth. The more targeted followers, the more money your Twitter account is worth to advertisers.
Mine’s worth only $265.71 per month with my 3000 or so followers at the time of this posting. Maybe my Twitter account would …
Tagged As: Advertising, Advertising network, Cost per action, Magpie, Pay per click, Social network, Twittad, Twitter
Tuesday, 18th November 2008
In Google’s Optimisation Essentials (Part I), Google’s top 3 AdSense Ad Units are:
My personal favourite is the 300×250 medium rectangle. There has been some controversy over placing the medium rectangle below the blog titles. I have been doing it for years and nothing happened.
Here’s Google’s official take on this medium rectangle placement issue:


I don’t think my ads look like the 2 examples above and I have never received any complaints from Google.
Someone from the Warrior forum reported that his PLR article-based sites was taken off by Google. Some bloggers have added an “advertisement” image or text above the medium rectangle as a fix for this.
I shall ask Google directly on what …
Tagged As: Google AdSense
Wednesday, 17th September 2008
SearchAnyway.com’s blog is a really good place to find out more about PPC arbitrage. Too many people think of only Google AdSense arbitrage when Google is clearly making it hard for this to work on their search engine. Some people are making a good living from SearchAnyway and it could be worth a look because they are more transparent than Google – At least we know how much they plan to pay us per click unlike Google.
Here’s a video of Sanjay, who works for SearchAnyway, on the best sources of PPC arbitrage traffic.
If you’re too busy to watch the clip, the “1st-tier PPC search engines” are Google AdWords, Yahoo Search Marketing, MSN adCenter, Ask and AOL. They hate the “2nd-tier search engines” and warn against using them or else they might ban your account.
Tagged As: AdSense, AdWords, AOL, Arbitrage, Ask, Google, Google AdSense, google-adwords, Microsoft adCenter, Yahoo! Search Marketing
Sunday, 14th September 2008
NetAudioAds / Voice2Page is probably a scam. People have been waiting for ages for the so-called “BPA Audit” to be finalized. The last post at the official NetAudioAds blog was on the 29th of July 2008. Charles Heflin’s blog was last posted on the 8th of May 2008. These guys seem to have either nothing to post about or they have abandoned this idea all together.
It was supposed to be launched on the 1st of February 2008. I have no idea what is happening with the people behind this launch but I think it has too many shady things about it that makes it smell very fishy.
Firstly, the appointment of Charles Heflin as the promoter of this company is a big red flag. He has a terrible history of not paying his affiliates as I have documented this in a previous post about NetAudioAds. Secondly, they have been extremely late to launch this program, which means they probably never planned to be early or they messed up big time. Thirdly, some people have reported that the claims of filling up 100% of their traffic is untrue.
Other people have started to grumbled about NetAudioAds and Voice2Page:
…
Tagged As: NetAudioAds, pay per play, scam, Voice2Page
Tuesday, 2nd September 2008
I first learnt about SearchAnyway after reading Google Payload, which is a rubbish eBook if you ask me. I won’t bother with the details of the eBook but most of the tips in the eBook will most likely get you banned with SearchAnyway.
SearchAnyway does not allow traffic from some PPC search engines like:
Google Payload recommends using some of these PPC search engines, which is clearly against SearchAnyway’s recommendations. SearchAnyway prefers traffic from 1st-tier PPC search engines, which probably means they like Google AdWords, Yahoo Search Marketing and MSN adCenter.
Here’s the official proof straight from SearchAnyway’s publisher screen:
Notice the bold text “Any Affiliate who can send us high-quality 1st-Tier arbitrage traffic for 1 month will have a rev-share increase of 5%, and will receive higher bids from our premium feed“.
The default revenue share is 60% of the click value of their ads. What is cool about SearchAnyway is you can find out the click value of your desired keywords. It’s right on their home page at the “Bid Checker” section. …
Tagged As: AdSense, AdWords, Google, Google AdSense, Pay per click, ppc, SearchAnyway, Yahoo! Search Marketing
Monday, 3rd March 2008
This NetAudioAds (Voice2Page) thing is such a disappointment because I have not received any audio ads at all. I thought 1 February 2008 was supposed to be the official launch but it turns out that it was only a partial launch. I believe that should have been specified clearly beforehand.
NetAudioAds (Voice2Page) have hired Charles Heflin to market their business. I know Charles Heflin from his site SEO 20/20. I have his “Masterplan” ebook and I like most parts of it. However, I am very sceptical about anything Mr Heflin promotes because he has not paid some of his affiliates commissions and some of his work was allegedly copied from Caroline Bogart.
I know this because I am a member of his private forum and one of his affiliates by the name of Lawrence has been trying to contact Mr Heflin to get his commissions for promoting his products. No response whatsoever was made to Lawrence despite his various attempts to contact Mr Heflin, including posting a forum topic at the SEO2020 private forums.
Caroline Bogart issued a warning to Mr Heflin for using her work in his own work and passing it off as his own.
I am also put …
Tagged As: Caroline Bogart, Charles Heflin, NetAudioAds, pay per play, SEO2020, Voice2Page
Wednesday, 16th January 2008
This is a nice article about Voice2Page from Wall Street Journal Online.
Using V2P Communications’ coming audio ads, which will pay blog publishers a 25% commission on ad revenue, a site that gets 2,000 unique visitors a day with an advertiser paying $14 per 1,000 plays would earn $7 a day, or $49 a week.
Let’s break this down into smaller chunks.
Visitors = 2000
eCPM = 25% x $14 = $3.50
Pay Per Play = $3.50 / 1000 = $0.0035
Earnings = (Visitors / 1000) x eCPM OR Pay Per Play x Visitors = $7.00
The eCPM is the net rate Voice2Page pays its publishers after it takes their cut. The eCPM rate is for 1000 impressions or plays. If you divide the eCPM by 1000, you get the net amount of money you should receive per impression or play. Multiply the number of unique visitors by the Pay Per Play rate, you get your estimated earnings. If your visitor stays on your site for longer periods, they might get another play and you earn from it too.
A $3.50 eCPM isn’t a lot of money. Some popunder ads pay this amount. I am still sceptical about Voice2Page. Let’s see how it goes when …
Wednesday, 16th January 2008
I emailed Larry Host, the CTO of Voice2Page with the following questions and here is his reply.
1. How much can I earn every time an audio message is played?
Our pricing is based on a cost per thousand impressions (CPM) and one ad play at a CPM of $20 is about $0.002.
2. How often do the audio messages get played per visitor?
Each visitor receives and ad when they first hit your domain. If a visitor stays longer that 3 minutes, they are then qualified to hear a second ad and another every three minutes until they leave your base domain, regardless of which of your pages they are on.
3. What payment options do you offer?
You may choose one of four methods: Paypal, direct deposit to either Bank of America or Wells Fargo Bank, or by snail mail check to your address.
4. What is your payout percentage?
The website that publishes the ad is paid 25% of the net received CPM. We pay out 25% to the actual publisher out of the net COLLECTED proceeds for ads. Just so you know the split, 25% for the publisher, approximately 20% for the ad agency and 10% for the referrer chain. We keep 45% …
Tagged As: NetAudioAds, pay per play, Voice2Page
Friday, 21st December 2007
NetAudioAds (Voice2Page) is launching a new advertising model for webmasters. Simply embed some code to the end of your HTML body tag and it will launch a 5-second audio message to your visitors when they visit your web site.
NetAudioAds (Voice2Page) will only start paying advertisers from February 2008 after they test the market a little bit. They pay weekly, based on ads played and advertiser payments. This begins the friday after your first ad is played in February. It would be interesting to see how this “pay per play” model works out. It seems like you will make money from each visitor to your web site regardless if they click or buy anything. It works a little like the “cost per impression” model.
However, I doubt they will pay for every visitor to your web site. Most likely, they will filter the source of your visitor and pay for USA traffic or English speaking countries only. They play 1 audio message every 3 minutes during a visitor’s stay on your web site.
I received an email from NetAudioAds’ CTO, Larry Host saying:
We ask that you embed this code fragment in all your pages as soon as possible as our third …
Tagged As: NetAudioAds, pay per play, PPP, Voice2Page
Thursday, 6th December 2007
I just added Kontera text ads to my blog. Maybe I should have added this to my web sites earlier on but I wasn’t sure of it because I used to have Clicksor on one of my sites and it was pathetic. Let’s see how Kontera performs on my sites.